BJP Party Crossed 100 Seat Mark for The First Time


  • In the recently held Rajya Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 100-seats in the Rajya Sabha.
  • Since 1988, this is the first time, BJP crossed the 100-seats mark in the upper house of the Parliament.
  • The number of seats of BJP increased as the opposition party ‘Congress’ has lost a string of assembly polls since 2014.
  • S Phangnon Konyak, the first Rajya Sabha MP of the BJP from Nagaland and she is the second woman elected to the Parliament.
  • Manik Saha, the first Rajya Sabha MP of the BJP from Tripura.


Facts to know:


  • Article 80 of the Indian constitution deals with the seating capacity of the Rajya Sabha (250 seats).
  • The first sitting of the Rajya Sabha was held on 13 May 1952.
  • Chairman of Rajya Sabha: Shri Venkaiah Naidu.
  • Leader of Rajya Sabha: Mr.Piyush Goyal.
Bharatiya Janata Party
preparing for jeet

Preparing for Govt. Exams?

Here is you path to Jeet

View courses