First Para-Athlete to Win Padma Bhushan


  • The first para-athlete to receive the Padma Bhushan award is Devendra Jhajharia.
  • He won his first gold at the 2004 Paralympics in Athens, his second gold at the 2016 Rio Games, and a silver medal at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.
  • Para-shooter Avani Lekhara was also awarded the Padma Shri award in the Sports category.
  • She is the first Indian woman to win a Paralympic gold and also won two Paralympic medals in the same Games.
  • Vandana Katariya was also awarded with the Padma Shri as she was the first Indian woman to achieve a hat trick at the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games.

Facts to know:


  • India’s Highest Civilian honour: Bharat Ratna.
  • Padma Awards, which were instituted in the year 1954.
  • Devendra Jhajharia is a Paralympic javelin thrower in F46 events category.
Devendra Jhajharia
preparing for jeet

Preparing for Govt. Exams?

Here is you path to Jeet

View courses