New Speaker Selected for Punjab Assembly


  • Mr. Kultar Sandhwan was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the 16th Punjab State Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha).
  • He is an MLA from Aam Aadmi Party and is the grandnephew of former president Giani Zail Singh.
  • He succeeds Congress leader ‘Mr. Rana Kanwar Pal Singh’ as Speaker.
  • The Speaker is the own presiding officer of the lower house of the State Assembly or Parliament.
  • Electing the Speaker of the Lok Sabha is one of the first acts of every newly constituted House.

  Facts to know:


  • Current Speaker of Lok Sabha: Mr. Om Birla.
  • Article 178: Speaker of the State Legislative Assembly.
  • CM of Punjab: Mr. Bhagwant Mann.
Kultar Sandhwan
preparing for jeet

Preparing for Govt. Exams?

Here is you path to Jeet

View courses