Padma Awards


  • General Bipin Rawat, first Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) conferred the Padma Vibhushan award posthumously at a ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.
  • A total of eight people were honoured with Padma Bhushan, the third–highest civilian award. Among them Devendra Jhajharia, Cyrus Poonawalla were awarded.
  • 125-year-old yoga practitioner Swami Sivananda was awarded with the Padma Shri award.
  • This year a total of 128 awards were announced - 4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri awards. This includes 13 posthumous awardees.
  • Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, former Chief Minister of West Bengal refused to accept the Padma Bhushan award. The others refused the honour were Sandhya Mukherjee (musician), Anindya Chatterjee (tabla player).
  • No names were announced for India's highest civilian award 'Bharat Ratna'. Previously the award was given in 2019.

  Facts to know:


  • Civilian honours of India in order: Bharat Ratna, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma shri.
  • Every year the awards were announced on the eve of Republic Day.
  • Padma Vibhushan was introduced for the first time in 1954 and Padma Bhushan, Padma Shri was introduced in 1955.
Padma Awards
preparing for jeet

Preparing for Govt. Exams?

Here is you path to Jeet

View courses